Tiny inspiration.

As I move closer to the fun part of decorating Eula’s room, the main bulk of painting is done, just the woodwork left, I find myself shopping around for inspiration. I stand in a very tiny white box and wonder what it can become.

Already just by painting over the Farrow&Ball Green Ground it has seemingly doubled in size. Comparatively it must have been a matchbox before. We’ve progressed onto tin can now I think.

Screenshot_20160114-092421~2

But yes. It is small. But so is Eula and what I have in mind will make up for its shortcomings. I just can’t wait to get prettifying!

Inspiration..

A few months ago I decided to decorate a dolls house for Nancy’s 4th birthday. Somewhere for her Sylvanians to hang out in a bit of Scandi style. Something that wouldn’t look out of place in her room.

I found this flat pack blank canvas on EBay for £29 and new it would be perfect..

Screenshot_20160112-220723~2

And so I set about transforming it into my dream home, ooops, sorry! I clearly meant Nancy’s dream home!! I had so much fun with this.

Screenshot_20160114-090148~2

Inspired by my friends over on the Facebook Scandi interiors group and armed with these beautiful Ferm Living Dolls house scale wallpapers, courtesy of Suzanne over at This Modern Life (this shop will continuously crop up a fair bit in my blog I’m sure, major shop crush there!) I had what I needed to bring the ideas in my head into reality.

FB_IMG_1452578006169

 

I couldn’t be happier or more inspired. I went for uncluttered, clean and bright. I think it’s inviting and sits proudly in Nancy’s bedroom. I can’t say the girls are as tidy as these Sylvanians here and they have their own progressive ideas about room layouts, but that’s what it’s all about isn’t it.

 

A mini room for a mini man…

I visited a friend earlier in the week who has been redecorating her little man’s bedroom. If I thought I had it tough with Eula’s tiny space then my dear friend had mission impossible. Basically an L shaped closet would be a more accurate description rather than ‘room’. But boy has the girl done good. I’m so proud of her and it was really the exciting boost I needed to find the enthusiasm for my next project.

I love to browse high end expensive designs. It doesn’t hurt to aspire a little, save up for those key pieces that will stay with you for life. But I get more excited about what you can create on a budget. Reusing, repurposing, High Street bargain finds. This little, once awkward, room epitomises this. Tiny space, tiny budget, big inspiration.

Keep checking in for progress on Eula’s little white box…

Here’s a little sneak preview of what I have in mind.

pixlr_20160114100646319

7 Comments Add yours

  1. CornishDoula says:

    Why didn’t I know you were blogging. I have been saying you should get into interior design for a long while. Alice you have so much talent my darling friend ❤ I am waiting for up dates with anticipation… Beautiful x

    Like

    1. Thank you lovely lady. It’s all very new and I’m just going to see how it goes xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alicja Bieda says:

    hello could you please share the link for ebay? i was trying to find it but couldn’t:( You’re very inspiring person, I love it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stacey says:

    I’ve been inspired by your lovely dolls house! 🙂 Please could you share what white paint you used for the house itself? Also, for the wallpaper, did you use PVA glue or wallpaper paste? Thanks Alice! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Stacey, thank you. I think I just used some white wood paint I had lying around, i’m afraid I don’t remember the name. Yes I used PVA XX

      Like

  4. Stacey says:

    Thank you! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

