Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel

 

Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in ScandilandToday I was lucky enough to pop along to the Modern Makers Fair at the Bedruthan Hotel, Mawgan Porth, and what a beautiful day for it. The sun was shining, blue skies as far as you could see, just perfect for depositing the girls with my lovely mum who took them sandcastle building on the beach whilst I browsed the pretties on offer.

I took some snaps along the way and thought I would share some of my favourites with you. Anyone local to Cornwall should definitely pop along tomorrow as the event is running all weekend.

First up was a very lovely introduction to the show courtesy of SOAP – Sum Of All Things. It’s always so odd when you’ve seen and admired a designer’s products on social media and then suddenly they’re there in real life and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. I have a real thing for ply and the layering that’s visible on the edges, some of you may have seen my kitchen table, if not check it out here, so SOAP’s products really do it for me, especially with their wide range of beautiful brightly coloured laminations, focus on sustainability and Scandi feel, just look at this bed!..Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

What child, or adult even wouldn’t want that in their bedroom?! They also make tables, mirrors, home accessories and very impressive sideboards.

Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

Lovely hexagon mirrored shelves from Simon Robson and incredibly detailed wallpaper and textiles from Identity Papers.

I didn’t manage to get any photos that did Megan Clarke’s ceramics justice so I’ve borrowed some from her website. Each pot/ bowl/ plant hanger has so much character and personality..Modern Maker's Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

 

Katy Pillinger’s lovely light hearted creations were high up on my favourites list with her beautiful prints/ cards and the wonderfully detailed potted felt cacti/ succulents and the brilliant Man Magnets.

 

Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

Another top fave was this wonderful print by Faye Bradley, I’m kicking myself for not buying this one, but with the forthcoming extension I’m trying my best to be well behaved.Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

More pretties from various people, including the hotel shop…

Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

 

Modern Makers Fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in ScandilandThe subtle pastel colours caught my eye on Clare Kilgour’s stand. ‘Contemporary Jewellery and Floristry Design’ sounds like a dream job to me. Check out her blog or Instagram for more lovelies.

The Bedruthan Hotel itself is the perfect setting for the brilliant fairs that run throughout the year. Built in 1959 it’s décor opitimised the style of the era, featuring designers such as Terence Conran and Charles Eames, I took a few shots of the interior to share with you just some really wonderful attention to detail, bold use of colour and design, all set off by the most beautiful views..Modern Makers fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

Modern Makers fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

 

Modern Makers fair, Bedruthan Hotel. Alice in Scandiland

All in all it was a thoroughly lovely few hours so if you can make it along tomorrow it’s well worth the trip.

I hope you’re enjoying the weekend what ever you’ve been getting up to.

Leave a Reply

