This .com shit ain’t working.

I’ve been doing some soul searching recently, I’ve realised certain things aren’t making me as happy as I would like them to and the balance in my life is very much off. When I started this blog it was because I enjoyed sharing things I had achieved with you lovely people, but somewhere along the way, right around when I started to think about trying to make a little living from what I am doing, I got a bit lost and the love diminished. I feel the essence of what I enjoy doing is missing from much of my writing, I check myself far too much now, worried more about what will be popular, ignoring what is coming from my heart.

Alice in Scandiland

Alice in ScandilandIt’s very easy to get caught up in Social Media, you start caring too much about stats and numbers of followers, it becomes a popularity thing rather than an honest outlet, a place to share some happy thoughts and pictures. It shouldn’t really matter that I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, they may not get me and that’s ok, they don’t have to, it happens a fair bit in real life, always have, so why would this be any different?

Alice in Scandiland has given me some lovely opportunities, I get to chat with likeminded people, interact with some great brands, who I admire very much, but I need to get back to my roots, to what makes me proud.

This .com shit ain’t working for me.

I thought the transition over to self hosted, to becoming more official would make me happy, a step forward towards bigger and better things, but what I have found is I feel far less attached, there are several factors getting in the way and I spend less time here as a result. Maybe this isn’t something I need/ want to push as a business, I thought it was, but in reality the constant need to be online is making me sick. It rules my life, I religiously check my phone for notifications, I feel obliged to keep things flowing, up-to-date, current and it can become a chore, which isn’t what it should be about. The time that could be spent being creative is wasted trawling Facebook instead, something needs to change.

FB_IMG_1452578006169

I may go back to my old WordPress page and get back to basics, I haven’t decided yet. We are moving out of the house this weekend, in order to have the new wood floor fitted throughout the downstairs (big YAY!), this seems like the perfect chance to take a holiday from Social Media, to figure out what actually makes me happy. That’s not to say I won’t be around at all, but I need to get back to posting because I want to, not because I feel I should.

I need to figure out what’s important to me, because I’m not entirely sure right now. Surely I’m not the only 28 (very nearly 29) year old who still doesn’t know what they want to be when they grow up am I? Will some divine inspiration just come to me….soon? I really hope so, I have this craving to move forward to something, but I just really have no idea what that should be.

Who knows, all this could just be a psychological reaction to living in utter chaos, I certainly feel very uninspired of late, it will be nice to get out of this house, to take a step back from the weeks and weeks of slowing chipping away at a boring to-do list and get back into the real world.

Thanks for sticking with me, it really is lovely to have you around x

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Silvy says:

    I totally understand and what u’re saying, even if I just start my blog I feel a bit of the pressure of the Social Media and the like kind of thing, and that shouldn’t be like that….I think you should just write to enjoy it. I keep repeating to myself that what I post should just be what I like and in a sort of personal diary, ignoring the star, like, followers, I’m the main follower and that’s it….

    Like

    1. Thank you Silvy, i think that really is the best way forward ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky says:

    Have a lovely breather, from the chaos of your house renovations and social media!!! I’m nearly 40 and still don’t know what I want to do!!! I also know what it is like to live in dust and chaos of renovating, plus small children added to the mix, it can send you crazy!! I love reading what you write and looking at your beautiful photos, such a talented lady!!

    Like

  3. Sophie Munro says:

    I’ve only just started blogging and already feeling the pressure. I find myself looking at other mum-blogger twitters and thinking “I will never make it to 8000 followers” Everyone seems to be going to these blog awards and I’m just thinking “how the hell do you even get invited to one of those things!” I need to remember why I started blogging in the first place- to re-ignite my love of writing. This is a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think maybe there are 2 different blogging worlds Sophie, i’m on one and many people I admire are in another. I’m not sure I can put in what is needed to make it into the other world and I think now I have accepted this it’s ok x

      Like

      1. Sophie Munro says:

        I agree, it feels like there are different ‘blogging worlds’ and I’m not destined to be a ‘big blogger’. Your blog is fabulous by the way, your style/home interiors are literally a dream! We have very similar styles! I will be following you for sure 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you lovely ❤

        Like

  4. Dee says:

    I can totally relate to this and I feel lost with all things social media at the moment! 29 is no age by the way, 😘😘

    Like

    1. Haha, I know I’m still young really Dee, though I don’t feel like it at the moment!

      Like

  5. bennyrens says:

    I am 30 in February and a year ago I felt the exact same. Now? I feel I have a path and a direction and I’m taking actions to follow it through. Inspiration will find you and you will know what is meant to be. Don’t worry, if you know exactly what you are going to do, what’s the point in doing it.

    Like

    1. Thanks bennyrens, here’s to 2017! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

