Pancakes galore!

Evening all, so how many pancakes have you eaten today? I was aiming for none (supposed to be on the health wagon) but have so far consumed 4, whoops!

The girls have never been that taken with the traditional pancake, I’m a huge fan of sugar and lemon on a thin pancake, pure and simple, but previous years I have ended up with cold leftovers as they weren’t a hit.

This year I decided to try the American style on them, more substance, more up their street and I was right!

The idea of modifying you’re own food appeals a great deal to small people and these 2 were thrilled to be given free reign with golden syrup, raspberries, blueberries, lemon, sugar and chocolate spread.

Here’s the simple recipe I used –

Ingredients

  • 300g Self Raising Flour (I used wholemeal as that’s what we had)
  • 100g Caster Sugar
  • 250ml Milk (I use skimmed but any is fine)
  • 2 Eggs

Method

  1. Sift self raising flour into a large bowl
  2. Add the sugar 
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs
  4. Add the eggs and milk into the flour and sugar and whisk until you have a smooth batter.
  5. Heat a large frying pan to a medium heat and add the pancake mix.
  6. Cook until bubbles are starting to form on the top and then flip and cook for another minute until the pancakes are golden brown.


I added chocolate chunks to the batter in the pan for a few and some raspberries to some others, leaving a few plain.

Totally yummy and indulgent.

What are your family favourites? I’d love to hear from you.

I’m going to have bacon and syrup on my next cheat day.

Leave a Reply

