Dust sheet curtains, serious budget styling.

So what do you do when you need curtains but you can’t afford curtains? You make them from a £10 dust sheet of course!

I can’t take full credit for the idea, a good friend of mine did it before me and basically I have copied her, but as they say, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. I’m in bed feeling all fluey and sorry for myself, so this won’t be a long post, but I haven’t written here for a while and I wanted to share as I’m so pleased with the results.

So, I took these rather mundane looking things and after about 40 minutes work I ended up with this…

I was originally wanting linen curtains, but the ones I was looking at would have cost about £80 to cover this large 2m75 wide opening. What with many projects on the go this was an expense I couldn’t justify. I didn’t want to completely block out the light, just the glare as the sun comes round in the afternoon and I absolutely love how the light comes through the material, it’s warm and inviting and does the job perfectly.

I won’t pretend this project wasn’t without it’s issues, the fabric was an absolute bitch to sew, I had to play around with the stitch tension until it stopped puckering, this was after a false start and having to unpick about a metre. I was very fortunate that I only had to sew one seam, along the top, to accommodate the pole. The B&Q dust sheet is already hemmed the whole way round and this 2.7 x 3.6m one was the perfect size for the opening. I decided not to use curtain tape and hoops as I wanted to keep things as simple as possible, that and I had a school run to do!

The muted colour tones well with our simple decor, for me curtains should become part of the wall and I prefer them to not stand out too much. I decided to keep it as one big panel, as opposed to splitting into 2. The curtain can be drawn to either side, the pole, made from an old hand rail that my husband just happened to have hanging around in the garage, which he sanded down, is strong enough to not need a support in the middle. It’s yet to be put up properly and once secured will be closer to the ceiling.

Another important factor for me to consider was the that the curtains would be visible from either side and their simplicity and single layer mean they loom great from any angle. I sat and admired them the other evening, whilst supping on some yummy wine, feeling a bit pleased with myself I must say. I love a good bargain make!

What do you think? I love to hear from you so please comment below, or over on Instagram or Facebook. I try to reply to everyone.
Here was my inspiration, at my friend Rachel’s lovely house..

Check out that sexy Ercol sideboard too, gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

