Nest & Burrow, Beauty in Simplicity.

Nest and Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

Evening my lovelies, how’s your week going? I’ve had a brilliant one so far and tonight I’m really excited to bring you a collaborative ‘Meet the maker’ piece with the lovely and talented Suzanne over at Nest&BurrowUK, to celebrate her Etsy store restocking, going live tonight at 8pm.

I’ve been following Nest&Burrow on Instagram for a while now, I love the simple, natural tones Suzanne uses in her beautiful home accessories, so when she contacted me to ask if I would like to work with her I was excited to learn some more about this ethically minded growing business and to share with you a behind the scenes insight into the world of a maker.

But first, in case you’re not familiar with her work, take a look at this beautiful handmade wall hanging which now adorns my stairway. This is a piece from Nest&Burrow’s new collection, ‘Beauty in Simplicity’, released tonight and this particular one is called ‘Sand & Stone’.

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

I was so excited to receive this creation, the Merino wool is as fluffy as a cloud and while I had intended to hang it in the living room, upon seeing it in real life I knew instantly that it would be far better here on the stairs, beautifully complimented by the other earthy, natural, calming tones. Just perfect.

I thought this collaboration would be a good time to start a little running feature I have been thinking about, ‘Meet the maker’, now and then I will share a little more about the people I admire and follow, so I can spread the love and support for these clever people, forging their own little successes in this big world, I hope you enjoy.

 

Hi Suzanne, it’s so lovely to be working with you, can you tell us a little about yourself and your family?

I live with my husband Will, daughter Isobel (8) and son Gabriel (3) on the edge of a small village, 7 miles from Bath. We are surrounded by fields, on the edge of an area of outstanding natural beauty, in the southern most tip of the Cotswolds.

What motivated you to start Nest&Burrow and how did you come up with the name?

I have always had a need for a creative outlet and whilst pregnant with my daughter I started playing around with Merino Wool. I had a wonderful response to the gifts I made and someone suggested I start selling them! It seemed the perfect accompaniment to motherhood. I began with nursery décor, mobiles and rugs and Christmas decorations, then branched out to make pieces for throughout the home. The name Nest & Burrow was born from my love of nature and the desire to create pieces for people feathering their homes. I’ve sold my makes in stores around Australia and since returning to the UK worldwide through my online shop.

What inspires your collections?

Simplicity, nature, and the yes factor…whatever I make has to resonate in me. ‘Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication’ – Leonardo de Vinci, this ultimately sums up my textile inspiration. When I make, when it feels right its like food for my soul and I hope the same is true for my customers. I think that’s the benefits of the creative process for my well being.

What do you look for in the yarns that you use?

Until recently my primary yarn of choice was Merino Wool, because of its super soft nature, I am very specific about colour and hue, it has to be just right. Since I started to make wall hangings, this time last year, I’ve started incorporating other yarn such as silk and spun wool, also plus plant fibres including organic cottons and flax.

Screenshot_20170509-073946

How would you describe your beautiful home?

It’s the coming together of two halves, one side is a small cottage built for mushroom farmers, who grew their crops in the old Bath stone quarries surrounding our house. The other side is the extension, which we have have been building over the last 18 months. This part is open plan, vast windows to increase exposure to the southern light. Our interior style has a tendency towards Scandinavian simplicity, but also rustic and earthy, with natural materials wherever possible.

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

Which is your favorite room in your house?

Tough decision but probably my bedroom, because of the wonderful windows on 3 sides, views over fields, through trees, its very serene and purely about relaxing and hanging out. Its white wash and green pine with whites/ light grey bed linen, lots of plants and simple art work.

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

What design ‘trend’ are you enjoying at the moment?

Obviously the woven wall hanging revival! I love Moroccan textiles and all African basket ware, also mud cloth design. I love jute mats and plants, ‘Jungalow’ style! My wish list includes a butterfly chair and some Danish armchairs.

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

Suzanne is an active supporter of Makers against trafficking, a Makers Collective, helping in the fight against human trafficking, running online auctions to raise funds for the charity A21 UK “a nonprofit organization with a mission to end slavery”. One of Nest&Burrow’s pieces from the new collection will be up for auction this evening, so go take a look on Suzanne’s page here for more about that.

At 8pm this evening the Nest&Burrow UK Etsy store will also be restocked with the latest collection and Suzanne is very kindly offering 20% off, click on the image below to sign up to Nest&Burrow’s newsletter and to receive your code (check your Junk mailbox if you don’t receive it straightaway).

Nest & Burrow, Alice in Scandiland

I hope you’ve enjoyed this collaboration, I always love to hear from you.

I’ll leave you with Nancy and Eula enjoying their beautiful Merino wool Nest&Burrow Mermaids, their new prized possessions, perfect for snuggling to sleep, thank you Suzanne.

Alice in Scandiland

Alice in Scandiland

4 Comments Add yours

  1. zoepowerphotography says:

    Lovely to read a bit more about Suzanne and her beautiful work. That merino wool looks incredible! I’ve splurged on a couple of pieces tonight – so excited! Thanks for sharing ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the post Zoe, enjoy your pretties 😆❤

      Like

  2. Loved this post and now love Nest & Burrow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fab, thank you xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

